Clicky

转世

转世

 - 痛苦还是解脱
当前位置: 宗教 >> 转世 2
(首先阅读第一部分 转世)

噶玛和转世--噶玛对转世有何影响?
噶玛和转世是一对连体双胞胎。

所有的宗教都信某种善恶行为的噶玛,即道德的因果,或是回报或报应。但它是怎样作用,背后又是什么呢?

噶玛,意为行动或行为,来自梵语―是古代雅利安语,即许多佛教术语的印度语经文和来源(或姐妹语言)。在亚洲,噶玛这个概念经过逾两千年的印度教和佛教实践的打磨,已经成为一种非人的力量。把它当作道德重力吧。我们可能一时躲开重力,比如在乘飞机时,不过即使那时它也不断把我们拉回地面。离开土地只会使别的天体比我们更强大。我们不能逃脱重力,也就无法逃脱印度教和佛教的噶玛。

噶玛可以给人慰藉,尤其是对穷苦人来说,因为宇宙的公平会保证惩罚压迫他们的人。然而,实际上,噶玛概念使一些个人、社会甚至是国家经济遭受打击。为什么?因为它的意见是隐秘的,我们只能看到结果。西方人想象噶玛在人生之中,恶有恶报,善有善报。正如《音乐之声》中自我庆幸的玛利亚所说:“万事有因。一切如此。所以我必定年少时做过什么好事。”

但是在产生这个词的东方,人们却几千年来相信噶玛能在转世中施行审判。它将它的公正律条隐藏在轮回中,就在一世到下一世之间。每个人的家庭、地位、性别、健康、智力、社会和国籍―各人的社会地位和生命前程― 都已在出生前就由噶玛注定了。我们看到的只是结果,就连它的意义我们也不甚清楚。

按照噶玛所说,我们可以确定“上辈子的事让我成为现在这个样子。”但上辈子你做过些什么?除了梦幻,我们谁也不知道。是好事?还是有好有坏?是坏事?有多坏?无人知道。你怎么改正?你无法改正。你只有接受命运…


噶玛和转世―双胞胎的舞蹈
大多数南亚人相信地位高是好噶玛的标志。相反,地位低是坏噶玛的标志。概念简单,但其含义却很深。

相信转世常常会使出身好的人骄傲,而出身不好的人会感觉消极、无能或愤怒。它常会导致对于弱势者的忽视甚至是虐待。人们的坏噶玛使得他们出生就有地位低下的苦难。因此,想要干预命运就是违背宇宙基本原则。

因此转世就是社会僵化和停滞的基石,与西方民主赖以建立的基础原则相悖:“我们认为这些真理是不言而喻 的:所有的人是受造而平等的,造物主赋予他们一些不可转让的权利,其中包括生命权、自由权和追求幸福的权利。”(美国《独立宣言》第二句)

相信转世和它的连体兄弟噶玛会阻碍人类潜力的发展,同时伤害个人、社会和他们出生的国家。迁到南亚的西方人相对比较少,其中许多在富有的机构和繁荣的国家。其他人则是寻求东方宗教的意义。后者要知道他们该做些什么,只需看看周遭社会的不平等现象。更多的南亚人欣然搬来西方是为了更好的生活。他们要感谢由于神“所有的人受造而平等”的犹太基督教遗产。

(当然西方和世界其它地方一样,也建立了自己的等级结构―通常是经济结构。但是金钱等级是非常易变的,这点已是臭名昭彰,所以宣扬这种等级的宗教信仰都被谴责也是理所应当的。)

而且,转世和噶玛包括了整个生物世界,因此不存在一方面是人,一方面是动植物或其它的内在区别。

设想你生于南亚一个等级低的家庭。你是千百万被命运和社会羁绊的人中的一员。你可能很纳闷,也可能会很自然地认为其原因是你前世的错误― 无论是真正的恶或只是非宗教的心。事实上,你应该考虑到你是从低等级进步而来的可能性。前世你或是青蛙、乌鸦或狗,所以应该感谢噶玛对你的提升。因此,就更该履行你的达摩(梵语,意为职责),以便下次还能提升。

不管你上辈子是什么存在,基于噶玛的社会都希望你知足。犬儒主义者也许会皱眉头,但“全能者要求你谦卑事奉。”可是一旦肩负生活的重担和苦难,你当然也会疑惑是否大多数动物都比你的命好。为什么一个无知的吃苍蝇的青蛙可能会比南亚街头终生打扫滋生苍蝇的车库的有自我意识的人还要幸福?噶玛对此不能给出满意的答案。


噶玛和转世―你的轨迹是什么?
如果你相信噶玛和转世,你永远都不知道要想些什么。如果你来自高等级,你很可能会骄傲。但也很可能你是从更高等级降下来的。也许你曾是一个不公的国王或是贪婪的婆罗门祭司。如果这样的话,你应该对穷人温顺慈悲而不是鄙视他们。否则,你还会继续被贬,甚至低过现在比你地位低的人。

这里重要的是轨迹,而不是位置。但如果你没有得到噶玛的信息,你怎么知道自己的轨迹是什么?一个被人类法庭判处服刑的人至少还知道他做了什么错事、为什么受惩罚。

我们再看看青蛙。青蛙怎么好呢?是因为它吃很多苍蝇而借此减少人类疾病和痛苦?还是吃苍蝇是错误的?毕竟,苍蝇也是生命。或者想想蜗牛。它怎么可以排到生命链条的上面?是理该如此吗?蜗牛不会是邪恶的,是吧?杀死别的动物来抚育幼仔的狼怎样呢?那是好狼还是坏狼?一个有噶玛思想的狼会饿死在野外的。那是提升的途径吗?还是它尽可以冲着代替它狼性道德的佛家道德咆哮?

女性的状况又怎样?不好。任何印度教等级制度中女性在家里的地位总是低于男性。佛教尽管从形式上排斥印度教的等级制度,但是也了创造自己的等级。男性高于女性。和尚高于不是和尚的人甚至是尼姑。尼姑做了什么恶要沦落到那种地位?无人知晓。或者她们实际上是从更低级的男性提升而来?

同样,我们无从得知。

西方的佛教徒常宣称转世提供了通过正确行为提升自己的时间。但反之亦然。多重转世并没有令嗜血的统治者有所改善。他们尽管被赋予好噶玛的力量,却把好噶玛转成恶。坏的领导人,无论职位大小,都一直如此。现代道德果真是过去的提升吗?那些罪恶滔天的人上辈子是什么?被他们伤害的人到哪里找慰藉?

人类意志又怎样?设想某人不愿为善。为什么看起来有好噶玛的人却常常放荡、犯罪来违抗前世的提升?是什么促使他们挥霍好不容易修来的地位?

转世和噶玛造成很多问题。按照印度教和佛教教义,噶玛是最基本的力量,对于信徒来说甚至可以命定神仙。噶玛还不止是一种力量。重力没有记忆,噶玛有。噶玛可以超越所有大型计算机的最大能力来看到、评判并记录整个历史上所有生命形式的行为和活动。它的条目估计甚至超过宇宙中的微粒总和。而且噶玛不止有无数的记录,它还负责审判,将其囚徒交给转世的看守。

噶玛还能爬进我们的头脑。它知道我们是真的善还是只是装出来的。它还评判我们的意图。鄙视穷人但为了得到颂扬又施舍财务远远不是真爱和真正的关心。所以噶玛计算机还能看到并评判动机。

充分认识后,我们看到噶玛是凌驾于我们之上的全能但偏袒的神。讽刺的是,很多西方人喜欢用东方思想来代替神,不喜欢生命中有神的介入。他们得到的只是一个评判的噶玛神―绝无恩慈、无力去爱、无暇为善、也无从亲近。噶玛― 整个就是剜眼还眼和无休止的拔牙还牙。

阅读 转世 Page 3

感谢斯科特•芒格博士。芒格博士目前在南亚研究比较宗教,著有《重新思考神:清除危害》(AMG/生活墨迹出版社,2007年)


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:




English  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


哪个宗教?

宗教多元论
天国之路
巴哈伊教
弥勒
伊斯兰教起源
诺斯替福音
基督教历史
罗马天主教会
基督教信仰
Additional Content To Explore...

科学上神存在吗?
哲学上神存在吗?
圣经是真实的吗?
神是谁?
耶稣是谁?
在神中成长
热门话题
生活挑战
复原有望
 
 
 
搜索
 
Add 转世 to My Google!
Add 转世 to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 转世
宗教 主页 | 关于我们 | 网站图
版权© 2002 - 2018 AllAboutReligion.org, 保留所有权利。

(Read Reincarnation, Part 1 First)

Karma and Reincarnation – How Does Karma Impact Reincarnation?
Karma and reincarnation are conjoined twins.

All religions believe in some kind of karma, a moral cause and effect, or reward and retribution, for good and bad deeds. But how does it work and what’s behind it?

Karma, meaning act or deed, comes from Sanskrit, the ancient Aryan language of Hindu scripture and source (or sister language) of much Buddhist terminology. In Asia, where the idea has been refined by over 2000 years of Hindu and Buddhist practice, karma is understood as an impersonal force. Think of it as moral gravity. We may seem to avoid it for a time, as when flying in an airplane, but even then it constantly pulls us back to earth. Leaving the earth only allows other celestial bodies to act more strongly upon us. There’s no getting away from gravity, and no getting away from Hindu and Buddhist karma.

Karma can foster solace, especially among the poor, as cosmic justice will ensure punishment for their oppressors. In practice, however, the idea of karma has often been destructive to individuals, society, and even national economies. Why? Because its pronouncements are secret. We only see the results. The West imagines that karma steps into life, returning evil for evil and good for good. As a self-congratulating Maria in The Sound of Music puts it, “Nothing comes from nothing. Nothing ever could. So somewhere in my youth or childhood, I must have done something good.”

But in the East, where the word was born and the idea has been believed for millennia, karma enacts its judgments between reincarnations. It hides its unbiased decrees in the turn of the cycle, somewhere between one life and the next. A person’s family, status, sex, health, intelligence, society, and nationality -- one’s status and prospects in life -- are believed to have been determined by karma before birth. All we see is the outcome, and even its significance is obscure.

Under karma, one can be assured that “I am because of what I did.” But what did you do in your past life? Dreamy assertions aside, no one knows. Was it good? Mixed? Bad? How bad? No one knows. How do you correct it? You cannot. You can only accept your fate…

Karma and Reincarnation - The Dance of the Twins
Most South Asians believe that high caste is the sign of good karma. Conversely, low caste is the sign of bad karma. The idea is simple. The implications are profound.

Belief in reincarnation tends to promote pride in the high-born, but passivity, inadequacy, or anger in the low-born. It often generates neglect and even mistreatment of the underprivileged. People’s bad karma gives them birth to the misery of low status. Interfering with their lot in life is therefore to violate a basic principle of the universe.

Reincarnation thus serves as the cornerstone of social rigidity and immobility, opposing the foundational principles upon which Western democracy was founded: “We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness” (second sentence of the U.S. Declaration of Independence).

Belief in reincarnation and its conjoined twin, karma, stunts human potential, harming individuals, communities, and the countries of their birth. Of the relatively few Westerners who move to South Asia, many represent wealthy organizations and prosperous countries. Others seek meaning in Eastern religion. To learn what they ought, the latter need only to look at the inequalities of the society around them. Larger numbers of South Asians who move to the West happily do so for a better life. For that opportunity they can thank the Judeo-Christian heritage expressed in the idea that all people are created equal in the sight of God.

(Of course the West, like the rest of the world, builds its own caste structures -- often financial. But monetary castes are notoriously fluid, and religious beliefs that promote them are justly condemned.)

Furthermore, reincarnation and karma encompass the entire biological world, so that no inherent distinction exists between humans on the one hand, and animals or even plants on the other.

Suppose you were born into a low caste South Asian family. You are one of tens of millions constrained by fate and society. You might well wonder why, and would most naturally believe the cause to be misdeeds -- whether real evil or simply an irreligious heart -- in your former life. In fact, you ought to consider the possibility that you advanced from a lower level. You might previously have been a frog, crow, or dog, and should thank your karma for the promotion. If so, all the more reason to perform your dharma (Sanskrit for duty) so as to move up the next time.

Whatever your previous existence, a society built upon karma wants you content. Cynicism may scowl, “The mighty need your humble service.” But when laden by the burden and bitterness of your life, you might rightfully wonder whether most animals are better off than you. Karma gives no satisfying answer to the fact that an ignorant, fly-eating frog might be happier than a self-conscious human, sweeping for a lifetime fly-breeding garbage from South Asian streets.

Karma and Reincarnation – What is your trajectory?
When you believe in karma and reincarnation, you never really know what to think. If you are of a high caste, you’ll be tempted with pride. But it’s quite possible that you were actually demoted from a still higher position. Maybe you were an unjust king or greedy Brahmin priest. If so, you should be meek and show pity rather than scorn to the poor. Otherwise, you might move down further, even beneath those currently below you.

Trajectory, not position, is all that matters. But how do you know your trajectory if you don’t get a report from karma? At least a person rightly imprisoned by a human court knows what they did wrong and why they were punished.

Back to the frog. What makes a frog good? One that eats lots of flies, and by that cuts down on human disease and suffering? Or is eating flies wrong? After all, flies are alive too. Or consider a snail. How does it move up the chain of existence? Does it do so as a matter of course? A snail can’t be evil, can it? What about a wolf that kills to feed its pups? Does that make a bad wolf or a good one? A karmic-minded wolf would starve in the wild. Is that their means of advancement? Or are they free to snarl at Buddhist morality in lieu of the wolfish?

What about the situation of women? Not so good. A woman of any Hindu caste is invariably lower than males in her family. Buddhism, though formally rejecting the Hindu caste system, created its own. Males rank above females. Monks are above non-monks and even nuns. What evil did nuns commit to sink to their state? No one knows. Or did they in fact move up from a lower form of male?

Again, you never know.

Western Buddhists often claim that reincarnation provides time for improvement through right action. But the opposite is also true. Multiple reincarnations haven’t improved murderous rulers. Though granted the power of good karma, they turned it to evil. Bad leaders, big and small, do the same all the time. Is modern morality really an improvement on the past? How have terrible criminals advanced from their previous lives? Where is the solace for those they harmed?

And what of human will? Suppose someone no longer wants to do right. How is it that the apparently karmic privileged so frequently defy, through debauchery and crime, all their previous promotions? What prompts them to waste hard won status?

Reincarnation and karma create so many problems. According to Hindu and Buddhist teaching, karma may be the most basic force of all, predating -- for those who believe in them -- even the gods. Though a force, karma is much more. Gravity doesn’t remember; karma does. Surpassing the greatest of all super-computers karma sees, ranks, and keeps account of all the actions and reactions of all life forms for all of history. The number of its entries can be estimated to far exceed the number of particles in the universe. But karma doesn’t just keep myriad accounts. It also deals out justice, handing its prisoners over to the bailiff of reincarnation.

Karma even crawls into our heads. It knows when we are sincerely good or merely hypocritical. It judges intents. To despise the poor but give money for the sake of praise is a far cry from true love and concern. So the karmic computer sees and ranks motives.

Karma, when fully acknowledged, towers over us as an almighty but one-sided God. Ironically, many Westerners are fond of Eastern thought as an alternative to God. They don’t like divine intrusion in their lives. What they get is a karmic God of justice only -- one that has no room for mercy, no ability to love, no time for kindness, and no place for intimacy. Karma -- the universal gouging of an eye for an eye, the unstoppable extraction of a tooth for a tooth.

Read Reincarnation Page 3 Now!

Compliments of Scott Munger, Ph.D., who is studying comparative religion in South Asia. He is the author of Rethinking God: Undoing the Damage (AMG/Living Ink, 2007).

WHAT DO YOU THINK? - We have all sinned and deserve God's judgment. God, the Father, sent His only Son to satisfy that judgment for those who believe in Him. Jesus, the creator and eternal Son of God, who lived a sinless life, loves us so much that He died for our sins, taking the punishment that we deserve, was buried, and rose from the dead according to the Bible. If you truly believe and trust this in your heart, receiving Jesus alone as your Savior, declaring, "Jesus is Lord," you will be saved from judgment and spend eternity with God in heaven.

What is your response?

Yes, today I am deciding to follow Jesus

Yes, I am already a follower of Jesus

I still have questions

Facebook   YouTube   Twitter   Google+   RSS Feed