Clicky

转世

转世

 - 痛苦还是解脱
当前位置: 宗教 >> 转世 3
(首先阅读第一部分 转世)

转世―是一种逃避吗?
大多数西方人完全误解了转世,认为转世可以给他们第二次生命。尽管它几千年来都是一种主导信仰,可是更明智的人却试图逃避。因为当转世和噶玛一起舞蹈时,人类就遭难了。他们没有第二次机会,只能被判反复的死亡。东方的救赎概念并不允诺一个新的完美世界,因为它认为对于尘世之爱是一个圈套,把我们绑在不幸的车轮上。所以东方的“救赎”是消失,或是化为一种定义不甚明确的仙,或是纯粹灭亡。

对此毫无了解的西方一边饱享基督教的果实,一边想象东方宗教可以让他们留在盛宴之中。东方不会那么容易上当。它想要消除恐惧(同时消除工作、手机和电脑)。


转世―陷入圈套的释迦牟尼
转世这样的概念怎么形成的?如果不是来自等级制度的印度教,是否来自吹嘘自由和真理的佛教?释迦牟尼是否因为“开悟”而得其名?

我们很难相信佛教经文中的细节。标准的佛经大概是在其创立者逝去大约四百年后写成的,而现代存留的版本只是更新的手稿。从表面看,它们描述的是一位起初误入歧途的虔诚、道德和关爱的哲人。

释迦牟尼舍弃幸福生活出家修行,感于生老病死的苦难,后来觉悟之后,他宣称人生皆苦,唯有消除贪欲之念才能得救。

遗憾的是,释迦牟尼的结论只会让人纵身悬崖。是的,这世上有苦难。但他也知道其它事实。他也应看到过世上的美好:家人之爱、自然之美、高山宏伟、天际宽广、日落灿烂、鲜花艳丽、鸟儿飞翔、大象有力,人类鸟兽哺育后代。如果释迦牟尼能客观些的话,他本该不止找到痛苦的原因,也应寻求美好的缘由。

对他而言,美好是一种幻觉。人们应该摒弃这个世界陷阱并从中被挽救出来。事实上,反过来想又怎样呢?安于痛苦是一个埋伏,而爱才是最基本的真理。也许受苦是手段,是一个严厉的朋友,鼓励我们寻求和珍惜最终的幸福源泉。释迦牟尼出生在印度教社会,所以他接受转世和噶玛的信仰,而这样做不仅使他被生活所陷,也被自己的思想所陷。

释迦牟尼的教义称欲望是受苦的源泉,它假设并支持了生命是无意义的。如果世界是一个陷阱,那么欲望就是绊索。讽刺的是,佛教要成为一种信仰,它必须要求它所禁止的欲望 ―逃脱被世界和死亡奴役的欲望。如此做来,它要求人们足够爱自己(有时也爱他人),才能找到和宣扬逃避的需要。

与佛教教义相反,欲望是中性的。从道德上讲,依据其不同目的,它可以是正确、错误或无对无错的。如果前后一致,佛教的原始虚无主义认为:爱或是没有根据或是错误的。没有根据是因为爱意味着人类是宝贵的、需要拯救;错误是因为爱要求为自己和他人渴望美好,而这是被禁止的。因为纯粹的佛教不起作用,实际的佛教只好蹒跚回到其它宗教共有的一些真理:对别人负责、盼望未来、同情他人、接受圣人和圣书的帮助,并最终接受救主―释迦牟尼本人或其他类似人物。同时,转世和噶玛仍然跳着它们的死亡之舞。尽管有旋转的轮子、飘扬的旗帜、轰鸣的喇叭、亮丽的僧袍、神圣的经文、生动的艺术、古代的咒语和一个安详人物的塑像,它们也不受影响。

显然,释迦牟尼没有解释这些。“何处有喜乐、真爱和美?”这个问题就等于“何处有难?”它们是否互不关联,因此无视一个就可以遮掩另一个?诚实的人会正视所有事实。而为了苦难释迦牟尼无视美好,也就否定了得到神的帮助的可能性。


转世―同样的苦难
听听一位70岁的斯里兰卡佛教徒的悲惨见证吧:

    我们走着(…),萨拉谈起她丈夫的一生和自杀、儿女的不幸福和她自己长期的不幸福。她穿着寡妇的白色纱丽,看上去苍老羸弱。“我小时候可以对妈妈叫嚷发脾气说‘我不要你的安心。我不要你的平静。’现在我渴望那种内心的平静,只是我没有力量也没有意志去得到它。我相信转世―但是它又能给我什么安慰?如果我一辈子又一辈子都是回来忍受同样的动荡、同样的苦难…有时我觉得只有一次涅,而那就是死亡―再也没有什么,再也没有感觉。可是我又不相信死亡”( 安德鲁•哈维,《拉达克纪行》)。
这种残忍的对于转世和噶玛的一贯理解没有给萨拉带来喜乐。只有对苦难的畏惧和对消失的渴望。

这就是我们想要的吗?这就是我们不论个人或是国家最多能够期待的吗?这就是构筑社会使社会发展的途径吗?这些证据不能证明别的答案吗?

继续了解!

感谢斯科特•芒格博士。芒格博士目前在南亚研究比较宗教,著有《重新思考神:清除危害》(AMG/生活墨迹出版社,2007年)


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:




English  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


哪个宗教?

佛像
伊斯兰教起源
教会历史
苏菲派
耶稣研讨会
天国之路
圣波利卡普
弥勒
新纪元
Additional Content To Explore...

科学上神存在吗?
哲学上神存在吗?
圣经是真实的吗?
神是谁?
耶稣是谁?
在神中成长
热门话题
生活挑战
复原有望
 
 
 
搜索
 
Add 转世 to My Google!
Add 转世 to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 转世
宗教 主页 | 关于我们 | 网站图
版权© 2002 - 2018 AllAboutReligion.org, 保留所有权利。

(Read Reincarnation, Part 1 First)

Reincarnation – Is it an Escape?
Most Westerners totally misunderstand reincarnation, thinking it affords them a second chance at life. Where it has been the dominant belief for millennia, those who know better try to escape. For when reincarnation dances with karma, humans suffer. They receive no second chance, only a sentence to repeated death. It’s no wonder that Eastern salvation does not promise a new and perfect world, for it believes that love of the world ensnares us, binding us to the wheel of misfortune. So in the East “salvation” is a chance to disappear, whether by dissolution into an ill-defined notion of deity, or simply to extinction.

The ignorant West, living fat off the fruits of Christianity, imagines that Eastern religion allows them to stay at the party. The East is not so duped. It wants release from the dread (along with jobs, cell phones, and computers in the meantime).

Reincarnation – The Buddha Entrapped
How do such ideas such as reincarnation come about? If not from Hinduism, with its caste system, what about Buddhism, with its vaunted freedom and truth? Didn’t the Buddha get his name because he became the “enlightened one”?

It’s hard to place great trust in details of the Buddhist scriptures. The standard collection was probably written some four centuries after the founder’s death and survived into more recent times only through much newer manuscripts. Taken at face value, they portray a sincere, moral, and caring philosopher led astray from the start.

Away from his happy home, Gautama rightly observed and was moved by suffering, misery, and death. Later, as the enlightened one, he claimed that suffering is the main human concern. Salvation comes by eliminating desire.

Sadly, Buddha’s conclusion is a walk off a cliff. Yes, there is suffering. But Buddha also knew other truths. He saw good in the world: the love of family, the beauty of nature, the majesty of mountains, the breadth of the heavens, the wonder of a sunset, the delicacy of flowers, the flight of birds, the power of an elephant, the care of people and animals for their young. If Buddha had been objective, he would not only have sought the source of suffering, but also the source of good.

To him good was an illusion. The world was a trap to be rejected and from which to be saved. In fact, what of the opposite, namely, that fixation on misery is an ambush, and that love is the foundational truth? Maybe suffering is the means, a harsh friend encouraging us to seek and cherish the ultimate source of happiness. Born in a Hindu society, Buddha accepted belief in reincarnation and karma, and by so doing was trapped not by life, but by his own thinking.

Buddha’s teaching that desire is the source of suffering both assumes and supports the belief that life is meaningless. If the world is a trap then desire is the tripwire. Ironically, in order for Buddhism to function as a faith, it requires the desire that it forbids -- a desire to escape from slavery to the world and death. In so doing, it requires that people love themselves (and sometimes also others) enough to seek and teach the need for escape.

Contrary to Buddhist doctrine, desire is neutral. It can be morally right, wrong, or neither, depending upon its purposes. If consistent, the primal nihilism of Buddhism makes love either baseless or wrong. Baseless, for love implies that people are valuable and in need of salvation, or wrong, for love requires the forbidden desire of good for self and others. Because pure Buddhism doesn’t work, in practice it limps back toward truths common to other religions: duty to others, hope for the future, compassion, help from holy teachers and holy writings, and ultimately a savior -- the Buddha himself or others like him. Meanwhile, reincarnation and karma still perform their death dance, undisturbed by spinning wheels, flapping flags, horn blasts, bright robes, sacred script, vivid artwork, ancient mantras, and statues of a peaceful man.

Clearly, Buddha did not account for all the evidence. The question “Whence joy, love, and beauty?” is of equal value to the question “Whence suffering?” Are they not related, so that ignoring one obscures the other? The honest person seeks all the facts. In response to misery Buddha dismissed good, and with it the possibility of divine help.

Reincarnation – The Same Misery
Consider the bitter testimony of a seventy-year-old Sri Lankan Buddhist:

    As we walked […] Sarah talked -- about the misery of her husband’s life and suicide, of the unhappiness of her children, of her own long unhappiness. She wore the white sari of a widow and looked old and stricken. “When I was a child I would anger my mother by shouting at her, ‘I do not want your peace. I do not want your calm.’ And now that I long for that calm of heart I have neither the strength nor the will to attain it. I believe in reincarnation -- but what kind of a consolation is that? To feel that I will return in life after life to endure the same restlessness, the same misery . . . Sometimes I feel there is only one Nirvana and that is death -- to be nothing any more, to feel nothing for ever. But I do not believe in death” (Andrew Harvey, A Journey in Ladakh).
A brutally consistent understanding of reincarnation and karma brought Sarah no joy. Only fear of misery and the yearning to disappear.

Is this what we want? Is this the best we can hope for, whether as individuals or nations? Is this the way to undergird and advance society? Does the evidence provide no other answer?

Keep Learning!

Compliments of Scott Munger, Ph.D., who is studying comparative religion in South Asia. He is the author of Rethinking God: Undoing the Damage (AMG/Living Ink, 2007).

WHAT DO YOU THINK? - We have all sinned and deserve God's judgment. God, the Father, sent His only Son to satisfy that judgment for those who believe in Him. Jesus, the creator and eternal Son of God, who lived a sinless life, loves us so much that He died for our sins, taking the punishment that we deserve, was buried, and rose from the dead according to the Bible. If you truly believe and trust this in your heart, receiving Jesus alone as your Savior, declaring, "Jesus is Lord," you will be saved from judgment and spend eternity with God in heaven.

What is your response?

Yes, today I am deciding to follow Jesus

Yes, I am already a follower of Jesus

I still have questions

Facebook   YouTube   Twitter   Google+   RSS Feed