Clicky

诺斯替福音

诺斯替福音

 - 可信吗?
当前位置: 宗教 >> 诺斯替福音 2
(首先阅读第一部分 诺斯替福音)

诺斯替福音--《多马福音》

尽管到目前为止所讲的诺斯替福音是重要的并且可以被很多有成果的研究利用,但大多数学者的精力却放在对《多马福音》的研究上。从某种意义上讲,“福音”一词在这里用错了,因为组成《多马福音》的114段松散的文字中根本没有叙述。8 事实上,“任何耶稣话语的合集如果没有激情的叙述都不能被称为福音”,因为激情叙述是“福音精髓的核心”。9 尽管引言中称“这些秘密话语来自活着的耶稣,由迪迪摩斯‧犹大‧多马记录”,说这是多马所著很可能是假的。10 《多马》的松散结构使人很难确切找到一个统一的神学主题,但可以成为一部智慧福音,从中可见来自智慧之泉的“多马”耶稣的洞察力(第13节),贬低预言及其实现的价值(第52节),批评启示录中关于世界末日的宣称(第51、113节),并提出通过接触”活着的”耶稣所说获得救赎。11 如果《多马》和其它诺斯替福音(如许多学者认为的)果真是真实的,而耶稣真正说过的话是权威性的(如全世界相信福音的基督徒所认为的),那么问题出现了。因为即使简单研究以下这些诺斯替福音都足以显示正经中的耶稣和拿戈玛的耶稣之间的显著差别,甚至是矛盾之处。鉴于这样的困难,我们似乎应该考察一下正经福音的可信度,然后将其地位与诺斯替福音比较。

诺斯替福音可信吗?
《新约福音》的可信性 在衡量《圣经》文本的可信度,尤其是手稿的传播和保护方面,适用两个标准。一个是确实性,此处指某一经文作者的确实性;另一个是真实性,指的是内容的真实。12 鉴于《圣经》给自己订立的标准,如:“圣经都是神所默示的,于教训,督责,使人归正,教导人学义,都是有益的。”(提摩太后书3:16,英语标准版),我们可以清楚看到一本正经必须是确切和真实的。限于篇幅我们不能对正经福音的可信度的宣称一一探究,但我们鼓励读者查阅一篇有关此话题的参考文章(例如盖斯勒和尼克斯的《圣经概要》)。

诺斯替福音是正经吗? 如果我们认为正经福音既要确切又要真实(因此才可信),我们就要问一个逻辑问题:诺斯替福音是否正经?因为如果它们是正经,而正经福音又是可靠的,那么诺斯替福音显然也是可靠的(这个结论必然涉及《圣经》记录的整体一致性,我们先不管诺斯替在此方面的负面含义)。然而不幸的是无论人们怎么谈论它们的可靠性,诺斯替福音还是达不到正经的标准。

《多马福音》为例。因为它是最有意思的―也似乎在所谓诺斯替福音中被给予最显赫的地位―现在考察《多马》的可信度(或其缺乏可信度)就会让我们对于诺斯替福音、甚至是整个拿戈玛文本有更多认识。比如,如果《多马》的可信度被严重质疑,那么就有理由对其它诺斯替文本的可信度打折扣,至少是在用于信仰和实践的方面。

那么,《多马福音》是否展示了使徒福音的主要标记―神的默示呢?看来答案一定是否定的。尽管对于《多马》的关注颇多,学者们还是一致认为作者为犹大‧多马肯定是假的。《多马》第一个违背福音作者身份的地方在于它晚于可能的作者年代。不同意这种估算的学者们,至少有一个引经据典力证《多马》的学者,13 认为《多马》的独立部分(那些与正经材料不直接对应的部分)应该讲的是早于《新约》福音年代的―与Q来源(同观语录源)同年代或更早。14 然而,“拿戈玛文件更明显的解读它们是共时的,”因此“完全可以用我们对于二、三世纪的诺斯替主义的知识来解读”。15 所以《多马》只是貌似先于并有助于正经福音;更可能的是它把许多不同宗教的点滴影响拼凑在一起。

就连《多马》最热情的研读者也发现了一些其它事实可以证明作者是假的。一位学者在谈到确实性时,没有试图证明《多马》作者的福音使徒地位,而是否认正经福音的来源,以使《多马》与正经福音等位。因为如果事实上“今天没有多少(学者)相信耶稣的同时代人真正写了《新约》福音,”而“我们只知道这些文字是那些使徒的…或是使徒的追随者的,”那么就可以说“同样地,诺斯替作者们也可以把他们的秘密话语交给许多门徒”,这并不损及诺斯替福音的作者。16 然而,这种关于正经起源的怀疑显然没有什么理由。因此,尽管学者们千方百计想要使《多马福音》等同于正经福音,它却永远无法接近后者的作者地位。

阅读 诺斯替福音 Page 3

诺斯替福音―尾注 8 赫尔姆特•克斯特,《多马福音简介》,拿戈玛图书馆,詹姆斯M.罗宾逊编辑(旧金山:哈帕罗出版公司,1988年)124页。
9 布鲁斯,155页。
10 梅耶,《多马福音》,23页。
11 同上,10页。
12 诺曼L.盖斯勒和威廉E.尼克斯,《<圣经>概要》(芝加哥:穆迪出版社,1986年)343页。
13 汤姆•撒切尔,《早期基督教和综观的缺陷:定位<多马福音>的问题》,《圣经解读》7(1999年7月):326-327页。
14 克斯特,125页。
15 詹姆斯D.G.顿,《耶稣的证据》(费城:威斯敏斯特出版社,1985年)
16 伊连•帕格尔斯,《诺斯替福音》(纽约:兰登书屋,1979年)17页。


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:




English  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


哪个宗教?

宗教比较
天主教神父
基督教信仰
基督教
诺斯替福音
罗马天主教会
圣波利卡普
圣母玛利亚
锡克教
Additional Content To Explore...

科学上神存在吗?
哲学上神存在吗?
圣经是真实的吗?
神是谁?
耶稣是谁?
在神中成长
热门话题
生活挑战
复原有望
 
 
 
搜索
 
Add 诺斯替福音 to My Google!
Add 诺斯替福音 to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 诺斯替福音
宗教 主页 | 关于我们 | 网站图
版权© 2002 - 2018 AllAboutReligion.org, 保留所有权利。

Gnostic Gospels

(Read Gnostic Gospels, Part 1 First)

Gnostic Gospels - The Gospel of Thomas
Although the Gnostic gospels considered up to this point are important and available for much fruitful research, by far the majority of the scholarly (and popular) energies have been directed toward The Gospel of Thomas. In one sense, the term "gospel" is misapplied here as well, for there is no narrative element to the loose collection of 114 sayings that constitute The Gospel of Thomas.8 In fact, "no collection of sayings of Jesus can properly be called a Gospel because by its nature it has no passion narrative," which is the "core of the essential gospel."9

Although introduced as "the hidden sayings that the living Jesus spoke and Judas Thomas the Twin recorded," this attribution to Thomas is most likely false.10 Thomas's loose structure makes it difficult to pinpoint a unifying theological theme, but it can be described as a gospel of wisdom, in which "Thomas' Jesus dispenses insight from the bubbling spring of wisdom (saying 13), discounts the value of prophecy and its fulfillment (saying 52), critiques end-of-the-world, apocalyptic announcements (sayings 51, 113), and offers a way of salvation through an encounter with the sayings of 'the living Jesus'." 11 If the sayings in Thomas and the other Gnostic gospels truly are authentic (as supposed by many scholars), and if the authentic sayings of Jesus truly are authoritative (as supposed by evangelical Christians around the world), then a problem arises. For clearly even these briefest of treatments of the Gnostic gospels are enough to show the sharp disagreement, even contradiction, between the Jesus of the canon and the Jesus of Nag Hammadi. In light of this difficulty, it seems appropriate to examine briefly the reliability of the canonical gospels, and then compare their status with that of the Gnostic gospels.

Are the Gnostic Gospels Reliable?

The Reliability of the New Testament Gospels Two standards are useful in any evaluation of the reliability of biblical texts, particularly in the areas of manuscript transmission and preservation. These standards are genuineness, in this case referring to truth in authorship of a particular biblical text; and authenticity, referring to truth in content.12 Given the standards up to which the Bible holds itself, e.g., "all Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness" (2 Tim. 3:16 ESV), it is clear that for a book to be considered canonical, it must be both genuine and authentic. Space does not permit a full exploration of the claims for the reliability of the canonical gospels, but the reader is encouraged to consult one of the many useful texts that have been written on this topic (one example is A General Introduction to the Bible, by Geisler and Nix).

Are the Gnostic Gospels Canonical? If it can be assumed that the canonical gospels are both genuine and authentic (and therefore reliable), a logical question to ask is whether the Gnostic gospels are themselves canonical. For if they are canonical, and if canonical gospels are reliable, then the Gnostic gospels are clearly reliable as well (setting aside for the moment the negative implications, as regards the consistency of the biblical record as a whole, that such a conclusion entails). Unfortunately, however, whatever one can say about their reliability, the Gnostic gospels far fall short of the canonical standard.

Take, for example, The Gospel of Thomas. Since it is the most interesting-and seems to have been afforded the most privileged status among the so-called Gnostic gospels-an examination of Thomas's reliability (or lack thereof) should shed much light on the Gnostic gospels, and perhaps even the entire Nag Hammadi corpus. For example, if it can be shown that Thomas's credibility suffers from serious challenges, then there is reason to consider discounting, at least in terms of what is useful for faith and practice, most if not all of the other Gnostic works as well.

Does, then, The Gospel of Thomas exhibit the primary earmark of inspiration, apostolic authority? It would seem that the answer must be in the negative. Despite all of the attention given to Thomas, the scholarly consensus seems to be that the attribution to Judas Thomas the Twin is almost certainly false. The first strike against apostolic authorship for Thomas is the late date of likely authorship. Scholars disagreeing with this assessment, at least one of whom is a well-documented advocate of Thomas,13 seem to think that the independent portions of Thomas (those which do not correspond directly to canonical material) point to a source earlier than that of the New Testament gospels-a text parallel to or predating the Q source.14 However, "the more obvious interpretation of the Nag Hammadi documents is that they are all typically syncretistic," and as such they are "wholly explainable in terms of what we now know about second- and third-century Gnosticism."15 It is therefore plausible that Thomas predates and informs the canonical gospels; but it is more likely that it incorporated bits and pieces from a wide range of religious influences.

Further evidence of false attribution shows up even in the most enthusiastic students of Thomas. One scholar, when discussing genuineness, does not attempt to make arguments for apostolic authorship of Thomas, but instead tries to equate it with the canonical gospels by discrediting their origin. For if in fact "few [scholars] today believe that contemporaries of Jesus actually wrote the New Testament gospels," and "we only know that these writings are attributed to apostles … or followers of the apostles," then to say that "Gnostic authors, in the same way, attributed their secret writings to various disciples" does no damage to the authority of the Gnostic gospels.16 However, as has been shown, there is little reason for such skepticism as to the origin of the canonical gospels. Therefore The Gospel of Thomas, despite scholars' best attempts to equate them with the canonical gospels, has nowhere near the claim to authority enjoyed by the latter.

Read Gnostic Gospels Page 3 Now!

Footnotes:
8 Helmut Koester, "Introduction: The Gospel of Thomas," in The Nag Hammadi Library, ed. James M. Robinson (San Francisco: Harper & Row, 1988), 124.
9 Bruce, 155.
10 Meyer, Gospel of Thomas, 23.
11 Ibid., 10.
12 Norman L. Geisler and William E. Nix, A General Introduction to the Bible (Chicago: Moody Press, 1986), 343.
13 Tom Thatcher, "Early Christianities and the Synoptic Eclipse: Problems in Situating the Gospel of Thomas," Biblical Interpretation 7 (July 1999): 326-327.
14 Koester, 125.
15 James D.G. Dunn, The Evidence for Jesus (Philadelphia: The Westminster Press, 1985), 98.
16 Elaine Pagels, The Gnostic Gospels (New York: Random House, 1979), 17.


WHAT DO YOU THINK? - We have all sinned and deserve God's judgment. God, the Father, sent His only Son to satisfy that judgment for those who believe in Him. Jesus, the creator and eternal Son of God, who lived a sinless life, loves us so much that He died for our sins, taking the punishment that we deserve, was buried, and rose from the dead according to the Bible. If you truly believe and trust this in your heart, receiving Jesus alone as your Savior, declaring, "Jesus is Lord," you will be saved from judgment and spend eternity with God in heaven.

What is your response?

Yes, today I am deciding to follow Jesus

Yes, I am already a follower of Jesus

I still have questions






Facebook   YouTube   Twitter   Google+   RSS Feed


Gnostic Gospel - Watch this short video clip





READ MORE

LEARN MORE